Food Babies

No, not you…. you, the bowlegged one

Picnic Planning

Posted by kathleenerindavis on July 24, 2008

Earlier this month The New York Times ran this article, called 101 20-Minute Dishes for Inspired Picnics. First of all I think 20-minutes is a bit too long if you are making several different things for a picnic, and second a lot of them are probably gross. But it’s still a good idea.

So here’s a list of the things that I normally include in a picnic (notice the lack of prep time):

  • My totally awesome picnic basket that I found on the street, it has a deep main section and two wine bottle holders
  • Cups, plates, cutlery, etc.
  • The pretty round table cloth my mom gave me that I have no other use for (good because it’s lightweight and you don’t have to dirty your blankets.
  • White or Rose wine (summer is usually too hot for Red)
  • Strawberries and Chocolate Dipping Sauce
  • Hummus and Pita
  • Wheat Thins and Garlic Laughing Cow Cheese (in those super convienent individual triangles)
  • Various other types of cheeses and crackers
  • Macoroni and/or potato salad (usually store bought)
  • Egg Salad Sandwiches (the egg salad I make uses pickles and sometimes cucumbers)
  • Seedless Grapes
  • Chips and a dip of sorts
  • Other fruits or brownies

And here’s some of the NYT suggestions I might consider for future picnics:

  • Beet Salad with hazelnuts and goat cheese (I didn’t think I liked beets until just a month or so ago, now I think I should try to see what they can do)
  • Interesting sounding celery filler: Process a cup or two of cashews, a chili or two, some garlic, a splash of soy sauce and enough water to get the food processor going; fold in chopped cilantro or chives. Fill celery sticks and chill.
  • This sound good, but I don’t know if I’d for to this much trouble for a picnic: Cook whole unpeeled eggplant in a dry, hot skillet, turning occasionally, until collapsed and soft. While it’s cooling, whisk together tahini, lemon juice, salt, pepper, garlic and parsley in a bowl. Chop the eggplant flesh (leave the peel behind) and roughly mash in the bowl. Add red pepper flakes if you like. Serve with pita.
  • Soak a tablespoon or two of black beans in sherry or wine; toss with cooked rice, soy sauce, rice wine vinegar, sesame oil and cilantro

(there were more, but the article seems to have locked me out, hmph!)

-KK

Leave a Reply

 
