Food Babies

No, not you…. you, the bowlegged one

The Unemployed Chef

Posted by kathleenerindavis on August 28, 2009

I’m a (now former) magazine editor in NYC, and in case you haven’t heard it’s not a great time to be a print journalist. So I was recently laid off. I don’t recommend it, it sucks.
I am however lucky enough to have many lovely people in my life, one of which is my boyfriend whom since I lost my job has had to pay for all my meals when we go out. In return I’ve promised to cook him dinner once a week for as long as I’m unemployed.

Week 1:
The first week I made black bean burgers garnished with Swiss cheese, avocado, and peppercorn ranch with potato wedges and corn on the cob.
Here’s the recipe:
Black Bean Rice Burgers (sorry no pic)
________________________________________
INGREDIENTS
• 1 (15 ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
• 1 cup cooked brown rice
• 1 small onion, finely chopped
• 1 egg, lightly beaten
• 3 tablespoons BBQ sauce,
• 1 cup bread crumbs
• 4 lettuce leaves
• 4 slices Swiss cheese
• 4 hamburger buns, split
• 1 Avocado, sliced

DIRECTIONS
1. In a large bowl, mash beans with a fork. Add the rice, onion, egg, bread crumbs, and 3 tablespoons BBQ sauce; mix well. Drop by 1/2 cupfuls into a large nonstick skillet coated with nonstick cooking spray. Flatten to 1/2-in. thickness. Cook over medium heat for 4-5 minutes on each side or until firm and browned.
2. Garnish into yummy burgers

(I don’t have to tell you how to make potato wedges and corn on the cob do I? Didn’t think so…)
**bonus, this really makes about 6 burgers that are super filling and good for leftovers for the rest of the week.

Week 2:
The black bean burgers were so good that Mark requested them again for week 2, so I made ‘em again along with corn on the cob (totally cheap and in season right now) but I made my favorite twice baked potatoes with them instead of wedges.
Here’s the recipe for those:

Garden Stuffed Baked Potatoes

255724

INGREDIENTS
• 4 large potatoes
• 2 tablespoons butter
• 1 small onion, chopped
• 1 bunch of chopped broccoli
• 1/2 cup ranch dressing
• 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
• ½ cup grated cheese (any kind really)
• salt and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS
1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Pierce the skin of the potatoes with a fork.
2. Microwave pierced potatoes on HIGH for 12 minutes. Place partially baked potatoes in the preheated oven and bake for 15 minutes. Slice off potato tops, scoop out the bulk of the interior of the potato being careful to leave the potato skins intact. In a medium bowl, mash the removed potato interior.
3. Heat a small skillet over medium heat, stir in butter. Saute onions in the skillet until tender, about 5 minutes.
4. Combine onions, cheese, broccoli, and ranch dressing with the mashed potato. Brush the outside of the potato skins with oil. Spoon potato mixture into the skins. Arrange stuffed potatoes on a cookie sheet.
5. Bake potatoes for 15 minutes in the preheated 425 degrees F (220 degrees C) oven, or until heated through. Season with salt, pepper.

This Week: Eggplant Parmesan made with an eggplant from my garden! Stay tuned.

Oh, want to hire me (I can’t keep this up forever people) here’s my site with all the important deets: www.kathleenerindavis.com

-KK

Leave a comment