Food Babies

No, not you…. you, the bowlegged one

Blueberry-Banana Bread

Posted by Hilary on September 11, 2009

This is a recipe I spotted on another food blog and have been waiting to try. The recipe itself can be found here: http://blog.fatfreevegan.com/2009/06/blueberry-banana-bread.html

I won’t rehash the whole recipe, since I followed this one precisely. It calls for agave nectar, which you will see in a lot of strict vegan recipes used as a sweetener in place of sugar (often not considered vegan as it’s commonly filtered with bone char) and honey (strict vegans don’t eat honey ’cause of the whole bee thing). I tend to use sugar sold as evaporated cane juice to solve this problem, but I keep agave on hand as well, and used it for this recipe.

IMG_3473

Though I probably never would have thought of it myself, blueberries make an excellent addition to banana bread. A lot of mine tended to congregate at the bottom of the bread, but the taste was not compromised!

IMG_3488IMG_3490

One Response to “Blueberry-Banana Bread”

  1. Brenda said

    Interesting, I’ve heard of adding blueberries to banana bread before. I love blueberries and they are nutritious! I’m going to have to try adding them to my recipe for the best-ever banana bread!

    Brenda

Leave a Reply

 
