Food Babies

No, not you…. you, the bowlegged one

Caramel Apple Slices and General Autumn Goodness

Posted by Hilary on October 8, 2009

At a recent gathering dubbed “Patrick Swayze Memorial Weekend” I was charged with the “Ghost” food, perhaps because I was unwavering in my support for Ghost’s inclusion in the movie marathon. The thing is, there’s really not much food in Ghost… pottery, yes- food, not so much. We decided that Ghost-themed food therefore equalled Halloween food. I, of course, took this opportunity to make a variation of one of my favorite treats- caramel apples.

Also, I found honeycrisp apples! My heart was all aflutter and I had to use them.

Caramel apples are finicky (see my last caramel apple post from November 2008), as caramel tends not to stick all that well to apples. The result is often a caramel coated apple sitting in a huge pool of run-off caramel. I decided to try and make caramel apples slices (really wedges).

First I used an apple corer/slicer to, well, core and slice the apples. I didn’t want them to get brown while I was working on the other stuff so I threw them in a bowl with water and lemon juice.

IMG_3508

Once I was ready to assemble the ingredients, I lined a baking sheet with a silpat, although wax paper would work just as well. I tried to dry off the skin-side of the cut apples, but I didn’t spend too long on this, because that would be tedious and annoying. From here, I applied caramel (very sophisticated, I melted a couple of bags of werther’s) and chopped peanuts. Not much to it, but delicious! The caramel sticks better to the skin-sides of the apple than the cut sides, but it’s easy enough to use the excess caramel on the silpat as a dip if you want more caramel than is stuck to your apple slice. I left peanuts off some of the apples, in case some people didn’t like peanuts, but in hindsight, no one cared and I could have added them to all the slices.

IMG_3516IMG_3518

.

.

.

.

On a related note, keep your eyes open for a post involving this super-cool pumpkin patch pan (link below). I had been coveting this pan for a while, and then it showed up on my doorstep, courtesy of Erin and Becca! Thank you lovely ladies!

Pumpkin-patch pan!

-H

Leave a Reply

 
