Food Babies

No, not you…. you, the bowlegged one

Special Edition: (formerly) Secret Ma Beazley Coffee Cake

Posted by kathleenerindavis on April 16, 2010

Mark’s mom makes a super yummy coffee cake for him whenever he goes home, it’s so popular that she often makes several, sometimes sending us home with two or three. I asked and asked for the recipe and a few months ago Mark gave it to me. I made it for the first time today. It’s currently cooling, I’m told it’s best to wait overnight before eating, so I plan to have it Sunday morning with coffee and the New York Times.  I’ll let you know how it is.

Please note the following:

1. This recipe is far from good for you, but very very yummy. Eat at your own risk.

2. This recipe is for three cakes, but since I am but one little lady in a little Brooklyn apartment, I cut it in half and only made one cake.

Secret Ma Beazley Coffee Cake recipe

(Makes 3 cakes)
Ingredients:
4 1/2 cups flour
3 cups sugar
3/4 cups crisco
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder

Mix those together and remove 2 cups for the topping

Add
2 cups buttermilk
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 beaten eggs

Pour batter into 3 cake pans. Spread the 2 cups of the topping evenly over 3 cakes.

3 Responses to “Special Edition: (formerly) Secret Ma Beazley Coffee Cake”

  1. Hilary said

    KK, I love your math!
    Let it cook overnight = eating it Sunday morning. Did you not make this today (Friday?). Also 3 cut in half to get 1?! You are so fracking adorable, I’m smiling right now, truly 🙂

    • KK said

      ok so turns out “leave overnight means don’t get as soon as you take it out of the oven” and half of three does equal one and a HALF or…one super sized one!!!

      • Hilary said

        And I meant “cool” not “cook”. I figure Friday to Saturday is overnight and you can eat it tomorrow morn!

Leave a Reply

 
